MOTAT is governed by a ten member board and managed by a Chief Executive and Senior Management Team.

The Museum of Transport and Technology (MOTAT) opened to the public in 1964 and became an independent statutory entity by virtue of the MOTAT Act 2000 on 1 April 2000.  

MOTAT is governed  by a ten member Board (see section 5 of the MOTAT Act); six of the Board are appointed by Auckland Council, and the remaining four members are appointed by the MOTAT Society. Auckland Unlimited under its Advisory and Management Agreement with Auckland Council manages the board appointments process and recommends candidates to the Council for appointment.

The Chair, Deputy Chair and committee appointments are the responsibility of the Board and are reviewed and appointed by the Board each year, usually in November.

MOTAT is managed by a Director/Chief Executive appointed by the Board pursuant to section 15 of the MOTAT Act.  The Director in turn appointed a Senior Management Team comprising three General Managers (i.e. General Manager - Business Services, General Manager -  Collections, and General Manager - Museum Experience) who are responsible for a specific part of the MOTAT’s operations and to assist the Director with the management of the Museum.  The Director and the three General Managers report to the Board on a regular basis on the Museum’s performance in relation to the achievement of the objectives outlined in MOTAT’s Strategy and Annual Plans.


To be the “must experience” museum that uses past, present and future Kiwi technology and ingenuity to educate and inspire the innovators of tomorrow

The Vision is incorporated in the Museum’s Strategy and is reflected in the five key objectives:

  1. Maximise the Visitor Experience

  2. Empower the MOTAT team

  3. Improve the quality of the collection, its care and accessibility

  4. Improve our business and sustainability

  5. Engage with like-minded institutions

MOTAT’s Strategy and Annual Plans are aligned to the objectives outlined in section 12 of the MOTAT Act.


  • Sue Wood (Chair)

  • Helen Atkins (Deputy Chair)

  • Lindsay Corban

  • David Downs

  • Gavin Fernandez

  • Dr Bruce Hucker

  • Tupara Morrison

  • Amit Prasad

  • Samantha Sharif

  • Dr Brian Young

MOTAT is grateful for the support provided by Auckland Unlimited and the ratepayers of Auckland.